Jump to content
The library informs: Om du bara lånar böcker digitalt behöver du göra ett fysiskt lån ibland, annars kommer ditt lånekonto att tas bort efter två år. Om du inte har möjlighet att besöka biblioteket kan du kontakta oss för hjälp.
Cover for The Eight Strokes of the Clock
Isbn: 978-87-2829-102-3
Publisher: Saga Egmont
Novels Crime & Mystery
Accessible since: August 2022


The Eight Strokes of the Clock

‘The Eight Strokes of the Clock’ (1923) is a collection of short stories featuring the gentleman thief turned detective, Arsène Lupin.

When a series of women are murdered in Paris, there’s only one person who can find the killer. Arsène Lupin must battle a murderer who wants him dead and a police force that wants him behind bars.

Written by French author Maurice Leblanc, these classic, gripping, all-action adventures are the inspiration behind the popular Netflix TV series ‘Lupin’ starring Omar Sy.

‘The Eight Strokes of the Clock’ is perfect for fans of detective fiction and Sherlock Holmes.

Maurice Leblanc (1864 - 1941) was a French author and journalist, best known as the creator of gentleman-thief turned detective, ‘Arsène Lupin’, considered a French counterpart to Arthur Conan Doyle’s fictional detective ‘Sherlock Holmes’.

LeBlanc famously pitted his own creation, Lupin, against Sherlock Holmes in his story ‘Arsène Lupin Versus Holmlock Shears’, changing the name of the British detective after complaints from Doyle himself.

Lupin became an international success and saw Leblanc write over 60 crime novels and short stories featuring his French detective. The books inspired the hit Netflix TV series ‘Lupin’ starring Omar Sy, Ludivine Sagnier and Clotilde Hesme.

Leblanc also wrote two notable science fiction novels, ‘Les Trois Yeux’ (1919) and ‘Le Formidable Evènement’ (1920). He was awarded the Légion d'Honneur for his services to literature.

Log in to borrow


Log in to borrow this title and view current loan status.
Read more here How to borrow

Supported platforms


Tablet e-reader